
This fact sheet is designed to provide general guidelines rodeo 
and rodeo related activities on how tax applies to items and ser-
vices purchased and sold at these events. If this Tax Facts does 
not answer your specific question, please call the Department’s 
toll-free helpline at 1-800-829-9188 between 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM 
CST, Monday through Friday.

Information found in this document rescinds and replaces all 
previously written information on this subject. All readers and 
users of this publication are responsible for keeping informed 
about changes in tax laws and regulations by reading the de-
partment’s newsletters, press releases, Tax Facts, and other 
documents published by the Department of Revenue.

Rodeo-related activities and events include all activities 
associated with rodeos. Examples of activities are: Bull-O-
Ramas, Matched Saddle Bronc Rides, Jackpot Barrel Races, 
Jackpot Team Ropings, High School rodeos, 4-H rodeos, Little 
Britches rodeos, NFR, SDRA, PRCA and any other rodeo 
event held in South Dakota.

Admissions
The gross receipts from admissions to any rodeo or rodeo-
related activity held in South Dakota are subject to the 
4.5% state sales tax, applicable municipal sales and 
municipal gross receipts taxes, and 1.5% tourism tax.

Any group, club, city, school, or organization sponsoring a 
rodeo in South Dakota and collecting admissions needs to 
remit the appropriate tax.  If the event is held at a civic center 
or arena, and the civic center or arena is collecting admissions, 
they are responsible for remitting the tax.

Admissions to grandstand events at fairs are exempt with the 
exception of rodeos.

Admissions to rodeos at fairs, including the state fair, are 
subject to tax. If the admissions fee is for multiple grandstand 
events, the fee can be prorated so only the rodeo portion is 
taxable.  

Examples

1. A $20 ticket provides admission to a concert and a rodeo 
at a county fair. Unless otherwise documented to show the 
fee for the concert is greater, $10.00 of the $20 (or half of the 
fee) is subject to sales tax.

2. Admissions to a Rodeo held in Ft. Pierre, SD are subject 
to 4.5% state tax, 2% Ft. Pierre municipal tax, 1% Ft.  

Pierre municipal gross receipts tax, and 1.5% tourism tax, 
for a total of 9% tax.

Entry Fees
Entry fees for participants are exempt from sales tax.

Rodeo Services
Rodeo services performed for rodeos by promoters, stock 
contractors, stock handlers, announcers, judges, and clowns 
are exempt from sales tax.

Concessions and other sales
Concession sales and beer sales are subject to the 4.5% 
state sales tax, applicable municipal sales and municipal 
gross receipts taxes, and tourism tax. 

Sales of nonfood or nondrink products are subject to the 
4.5% state sales tax, applicable municipal sales tax, and 
tourism tax.

If the organization holding (sponsoring) the rodeo is also 
selling concessions or other products, all sales are taxable 
and can be reported on the same tax return.     

If the person or organization selling concessions or other prod-
ucts is not the sponsor of the rodeo, that person or organization 
is responsible for remitting tax on their receipts.  

Exception: If the concessions or other products are sold by a 
religious, benevolent, fraternal, youth association, or chari-
table organization, and all receipts after deducting the costs of 
the activity are expended for religious, benevolent, fraternal, 
youth association, or charitable purposes, and the event is 3 or 
less consecutive days (5 or less consecutive days for a county 
fair), the receipts from the concessions are not subject to sales 
tax.  Sales or use tax is to be paid on all products or services 
purchased for use in the activity.

Examples

1. A high school rodeo club in Wall is sponsoring a 1 day
rodeo and will sell concessions. The club is responsible for
remitting sales tax on all receipts from the admissions. The
receipts from the concessions, which go to the youth organiza-
tion, are not taxable. Sales tax is due on all purchases made
by the rodeo club.

2. The Elks Club, which is a benevolent organization, is re-
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sponsible for the concessions at a 2 day rodeo the county is 
holding at a county fair. Because the Elks Club is a benevolent 
organization and all proceeds after the expenses are given to 
benevolent causes, they do not owe sales tax on the conces-
sion sales. The Elks Club must pay sales tax on purchases of 
all products they will use or sell at the event. 

3. Various vendors sell photos, clothing, purses, and tack at 
a state youth rodeo.  The vendors sales are subject to the 
4.5% state sales tax, applicable municipal sales tax, and 
tourism tax. Each vendor is responsible for remitting tax on 
their sales.

4. A fire department is holding a bull riding competition to 
raise funds.  The receipts from admissions are subject to tax. 

Sales for Resale
Vendors may purchase food and other products that will be 
sold to a customer from their supplier as a “sale for resale”. 
The business does not pay sales tax to the supplier at the time 
of the purchase, but must furnish the supplier with an exemp-
tion certificate. If a business purchases an item for resale, but 
later uses that item, the purchaser is responsible for reporting 
and paying use tax on that item. 

To purchase products for resale, the vendor must have a sales 
tax license. 

Exception:  Sellers that do not owe sales tax on the sale of 
concessions or products because the proceeds from their sale 
are for charitable purposes, cannot purchase products for re-
sale. These organizations should pay sales tax on all purchases 
that will be used or sold at that event.

Exemption certificates may be obtained from our website at 
http://dor.sd.gov or by calling 1-800-829-9188.

Municipal Tax
Many municipalities in South Dakota have a sales or use tax 
in addition to the state sales tax. If a rodeo or rodeo related 
event is held in one of these municipalities, the municipal 
sales tax will apply to all admissions and sales of products or 
services that are subject to the state sales tax.   

Municipalities may also have a 1% gross receipts tax that is 
in addition to the municipal sales tax. The gross receipts tax 
can be imposed on lodging, eating establishments, alcoholic 
beverages and ticket sales or admissions to places of amuse-
ment, athletic or cultural events. This is in addition to the state 
sales tax, the municipal sales tax and tourism tax. 

Municipal taxes are reported under the City and Special 
Jurisdiction section of the return using the codes assigned to 
each city and tax type.   A list of municipal tax rates is 
available on the department’s website at http://dor.sd.gov 

or by calling 1-800-829-9188.

Tourism Tax
The tourism tax rate is 1.5% and is in addition to state sales tax 
and any applicable municipal taxes.  Tourism tax is reported 
under the City and Special Jurisdiction section of the return 
using the code 700-1.

The sale of any products, concessions, admissions, services, 
parking, or transportation on the site of a spectator event is 
subject to the tourism tax.  Tourism tax does not apply to the 
purchase of products or services used to put on the event.  
The following are spectator events:  Rodeo (including rodeo 
related events), Fairs, Horse Races, Horse Shows, Concerts, 
and Sporting Events.  For a complete listing of spectator 
events, see the Tourism Tax Facts available online at http://
dor.sd.gov or call 1-800-829-9188.

Tourism tax also applies to hotels and lodging places, camp-
grounds, motor vehicle rentals, recreational equipment rentals, 
recreational services, visitor attractions and visitor-intensive 
businesses.  

How to Apply for a Sales Tax License
Applications for a state tax license may be submitted online 
at http://dor.sd.gov. If you do not have access to the Internet, 
stop by any of our local offices to complete your application 
or call 1-800-829-9188.  Be sure to apply well ahead of 
your event so you have time to obtain the license before 
purchasing products you will be selling.

There is no fee for a sales or contractors’ excise tax license. 
You will receive a license card once the license is approved. 

Organizations that have a sales tax license should notify the 
Department of changes in mailing address or contact persons. 
Send the new address, contact person and their phone number 
to the department along with your tax license number.

Records
Every taxpayer must establish and maintain records that are 
adequate to determine the correct amount of that taxpayer’s tax 
liability. Records, such as purchase and sales invoices, bills of 
lading, books of all receipts and sales, cash register receipts, 
and other pertinent papers and documents, are required to be 
kept for at least three years and be available for inspection 
during business hours.
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Talk to Us!
If you have a tax problem or question, call the South Dakota 
Department of Revenue toll-free at 1-800-829-9188.  Visit 
us on the web at http://dor.sd.gov, email us at bustax@state. 
sd.us or write us:

South Dakota
Department of Revenue

445 East Capitol Ave.
Pierre, SD  57501

Aberdeen			 Sioux Falls		
14 South Main, Suite 1-C	 300 S. Sycamore, Ste 102 
Aberdeen, SD  57401		  Sioux Falls, SD  57110

Mitchell			 Watertown 
417 N. Main, Suite 112		 715 S Maple 
Mitchell, SD  57301		 Watertown, SD  57201 

Rapid City			
1520 Haines Avenue, Suite 3
Rapid City, SD  57701						

Yankton
1900 Summit Street 
Y ankton, SD 57078 


