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& Regulation

New Municipal Tax Changes Effective January 1

Beginning January 1, 2007, the following South Dakota communities will implement
new municipal taxes or update their current city taxes.

¢ Pierpont is implementing a 2% general sales and use tax rate.
e Saint Lawrence is implementing a 2% general sales and use tax rate.
e Watertown is increasing its general sales and use tax rate from 1.9% to 2%.

The complete updated January 2006 Municipal Sales Tax Rate Chart can be found
on page 7 of this publication.

N

The taxpayers of South Dakota voted to increase the excise taxes on ciga-
rettes and tobacco products in elections held on November 7. The changes
are effective on January 1, 2007. The excise taxes for cigarettes changed
from $.53 to $1.53 per package of 20 and from $.67 to $1.92 per package of
25. The Tobacco Products tax (chew, cigars, etc.) increased from 10% to
35% of the wholesale price. New reporting forms are available on line at
www.state.sd.us/drr, under Special Taxes. /

\

ew Tax Rates for Cigarettes and Tobacco Products

Reminders:

* Any business that provides alcoholic beverages to its patrons needs an alcohol
license. This includes alcohol that is part of a package and alcohol that is not
separately billed.

For example, a spa giving a beer to customers purchasing a service or a hotel
providing wine with a room would both need alcohol licenses. Providing alcohol
without a license is a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail, a
$2,000 fine, or both.

* Please ensure that any coin-operated amusement machine in your business dis-
plays the current decal. The owners of the machines buy the decals instead of
paying municipal sales tax on the money they receive from the machines. If you
do not have a decal from the Department of Revenue & Regulation, contact the
Special Taxes division at 605-773-3311.



ExXEcuTIVE

Insights...from the Secretary’s Desk

9188 to learn more.

Each year the percentage of revenues from sales, use and contractor excise tax filings completed
electronically through SD QUEST gets larger. In 2006, 51% of taxes paid were filed electronically.
Have you tried filing through SD QUEST? It will save you time and money. Call 1-800-TAX(829)-

Working hard with other states and industry to simplify sales tax administration so that taxes apply
equally to retail sales, whether conventional or electronic, continued to be one of our highest priorities
in 2006. The experts say that $27 billion in holiday sales in 2006 will be made by Internet shoppers

around the country. That’s a large number, and clearly shows that on-line shopping has become a major retail channel.
Ensuring that the sales tax applies equally to on-line sales in America is a challenge that must be met.

The state legislature will soon convene for its 2007 session, and with some new legislators having been elected in Novem-
ber, it’s anyone’s guess what kind of changes to the tax laws will be debated. For a summary of any changes in the sales,

use and excise tax laws that occur this winter, be sure to see

It’s been my distinct pleasure to have served as Secretary of

the April edition of this newsletter.

Revenue & Regulation these past 11 % years. During that

time I have worked with many taxpayers on various issues and concerns, and have the utmost respect for the business-
people of this state. Thank you for helping make my tenure with the department an enjoyable experience.

On behalf of all of us at DRR, I hope your holidays were joyous and the new year will be most prosperous.

gg;@ Vs,

Editor’s Note: Secretary Viken has retired from the Department of Revenue & Regulation. His last day was December 22, 2006.

Architects’ Purchase of Blue Prints

The October 2006 newsletter’s “Ask Doctor Revenue” ques-
tion asked if an architect can purchase blue prints for resale.
The answer was no, that an architect cannot purchase the
blueprints for resale for the owner of the project. This an-
swer is correct if the architect is providing a service, as a
service provider there are no provisions to allow a purchase
of tangible personal property for resale.

However, if the architect sells blueprints and does not provide
service to the client, they do not design or modify the plans,
then this is a sale of tangible personal property and as such
the copies can be purchased for resale.

Examples:

1. An architect is hired to design a home. When completed
the architect makes copies of the blueprints for the homeowner
and various contractors. The homeowner is charged for the
design service and the copying cost for the blueprints. The ar-
chitect is providing a service and cannot purchase the blue-
prints for resale. Sales tax on the total charge to the customer.

2. An engineer/architect firm is hired to design plans and
specs for streets in a privately owned new development. Cop-
ies are made and provided to contractors that may be bidding
on the project. The land owner is billed for the design and for
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the copying cost of the plans and specs. There is ho markup
in the copying charges. Because the architect is providing a
service to the land owner the architect cannot purchase the
blueprints for resale. Sales tax is due on the total charge to
the customer.

3. Same as 2 except the land owner is billed for the design
and each contractor is billed for the plans and specs they
request. In this situation because there is no design service
provided to the contractors, the contractors are purchasing
tangible personal property. The architect may purchase the
plans sold to the contractors for resale and will owe sales tax
on the fee charged the contractors for the plans. The design
service to the land owner is also subject to sales tax.

4. An architect is contacted by a client for plans for a home.
The architect has several plans already in inventory the client
may select from. The client selects a plan without changes.
The architect has copies made for the owner and contrac-
tors. The owner is billed for each copy. Because there is no
service provided to the client, this is a sale of tangible per-
sonal property. Tangible personal property to be sold at retail
can be purchased for resale. IF any modifications or addi-
tions were made by the architect, then this is a service and
the copies would not be purchased for resale.



REVENUE SOLUTIONS

Business Education Program

Come join our Business Education Program at one of the work-
shops or seminars in your area. For the most current list of
seminars or to register, visit our website at www.state.sd.us/drr.

Border Issues Seminars

Border Issues Seminars cover the difference in the tax appli-
cation and reporting process between South Dakota and bor-
dering states. For more information or to view our latest semi-
nars, visit us online at www.state.sd.us/drr2/seminar/
classreg.htm.

MN/SD Border Issues Sales Tax:

March 28, 2007 9:00am — 12:00pm
Morningside Community Center Contractors’ Tax:
2400 S. Bahnson Ave. 1:00pm — 4:00pm

Sioux Falls, SD

Tri-State (IA/NE/SD)

April 18, 2007 Sales Tax: 9:00am — 4:00pm
April 19, 2007 Contractors’ Tax: 9:00am — 4:00pm

Technical Business Center
Conference Room
2329 N. Career Ave.

Sioux Falls, SD

Tri-State (IA/NE/SD)

May 23, 2007 Sales Tax: 9:00am — 4:00pm

May 24, 2007 Contractors’ Tax: 9:00am — 4:00pm

Western lowa Technology

Building B (Advanced Sciences Building)
4647 Stone Avenue

Sioux City, 1A

Small Business Workshops

Information regarding the Department of Revenue & Regu-
lation, Department of Labor, and the Small Business Admin-
istration will be covered. For more information, check us out
online at www.state.sd.us/drr2/seminar/classreg.htm.

April 25, 2007

Lake Area Technical Institute
Technical Education Building
230 11th St. NE

Watertown, SD

May 9, 2007
Brookings Library
515 3rd St.
Brookings, SD

May 16, 2007

Northern State University

Student Center - Centennial Room B & D
1200 S. Jay St.

Aberdeen, SD

Ask Doctor Revenue

By Dr. Revenue

Our law firm from Rapid City, SD, is representing a
client from ND in a lawsuit involving a car accident
in Rapid City, SD. Do we charge SD or ND sales tax
on this service?

Using the guide found in the Attorney tax facts use the
following three steps to determine what tax to apply:

1. If the service is received at your office in Rapid City,
then apply SD plus Rapid City sales tax.

2. If the service is received by the client at another loca-
tion - such as at their location in ND, then apply sales
tax to that location.

3. If the service is received by the client at multiple loca-
tions - such as at your office, at their location and at a
deposition in another town, then sales tax is applied based
on the client’s address.

For further information on attorney services please review
the Attorney Tax Facts at http://www.state.sd.us/drr2/pub-
lications/taxfacts/attorneys.pdf.

Tax Filing Deadlines

January

Jan. 20 -

Jan. 23 -
Jan. 30 -
Jan. 31 -

February

Feb. 20 -

Feb. 23 -
Feb. 27 -

March

March 20 -

March 23 -
March 29 -
March 31 -

Paper returns and payments due for
monthly filers.

SD QUEST returns due.

SD QUEST electronic payments due.
Paper returns and payments due for
bi-monthly filers.

Paper returns and payments due for
monthly filers.

SD QUEST returns due.

SD QUEST electronic payments due.

Paper returns and payments due for
monthly filers.

SD QUEST returns due.

SD QUEST electronic payments due.
Paper returns and payments due for
bi-monthly filers.
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News You CaN Use

The Department has seen many re-
turns filled out incorrectly since the
tax returns were changed in January
of 2006. The required information on
the current form is not listed on the
same lines as it was on the previous
return. In some cases different infor-
mation is requested than that on the
previous returns.

Please review your next return to
see that you are putting the correct
information on the following lines
of the sales tax return.

Line 1. Gross sales — Include all
sales, taxable and nontaxable.

Sales Tax Return Errors — Check Your Return!

Line 2. Use Taxable — Include
cost of goods or services purchased
for use by your business on which
no sales tax was paid.

Line 3. Non-Taxable Sales — In-
clude all non-taxable sales which may
include resale, out-of-state sales, gov-
ernment sales, motor fuel sales, ex-
empt products, and sales to exempt
customers. (Line 3 was previously a
total of lines 1 and 2. Some taxpay-
ers are still putting the total of lines 1
and 2 on this line, which results in all
your sales and use taxable items be-
ing deducted as non-taxable.)

Line 4. Reservation Sales — In-
clude only taxable sales delivered on
Indian Country (Reservations) con-
trolled by the Cheyenne River Sioux,
Pine Ridge Sioux, Rosebud Sioux, or
Standing Rock Sioux tribal govern-
ments. These sales must also be
listed in the City and Reservation Tax
Calculation Detail (lines 8-21). Do
NOT include any city tax amounts
on line 4.

Line 5. Net State Sales Taxable —
Add Lines 1 and 2, then subtract Lines
3 and 4. This is the amount subject
to the 4% state sales tax.

SALES TAX CALCULATIONS GROSS TAXABLE RATE TAX DUE
1. Gross Sales 50,000.00
2. Use Taxable 1,000.00
3. Non-Taxable Sales 20,000.00
4. Reservation Sales (Detail in City Section) 5,000.00
5. Net State Sales Taxable (Line 1 plus Line 2, minus Line 3, minus Line 4) 26,000.00 X 4% 1,040.00

Use Tax Applies to Internet and Out-of-State Purchases

There has been a lot of discussion on sales
tax and Internet purchases lately. But did
you know you might owe use tax on
Internet sales? If you purchase an item
over the Internet, through a catalog or in
another state for use in South Dakota, and
did not pay sales tax at the time of pur-
chase, you owe South Dakota use tax.

The differences between the sales tax and
use tax are when it is applied and who is
responsible for remitting it.

Sales tax is applied at the time of pur-
chase of goods and services; the seller of
the item is responsible for reporting and
remitting the tax. Use tax is applied after
the purchase is made. That is, when a
purchase is made without paying sales tax,
the buyer or user of the goods or services
is responsible for paying use tax.

The rates for use tax are the same as the
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sales tax rates—four percent state tax
plus applicable municipal tax.

Use tax applies to services as well. If the
service is used in South Dakota, use tax
is due if the service provider does not
collect sales tax.

You owe use tax to South Dakota:

if you did not pay sales tax when you
bought the item;

or

the sales tax you paid to another state was
not as much as what you would have paid
in South Dakota. The difference in the
two amounts is how much use tax is owed.
Add the 4% state tax to any applicable
city tax to determine if you owe additional
use tax.

Reciprocity: If the rates of the other
state’s sales tax are the same or more
than South Dakota’s tax rate, you do not
Owe any use tax.

Repairs to Leased
Equipment

A lease or rental business owes
sales or use tax on all replace-
ment parts, repair parts or main-
tenance items installed in its
rental inventory.

Farm Machinery:

The repair to or maintenance of
leased farm machinery and irri-
gation equipment used primarily
for agricultural purposes is ex-
empt from sales or use tax.

Railroad cars:

The repair to or maintenance of a
leased railroad car is subject to
sales tax, however, the lease of
the railroad car is exempt from
sales tax.




Revenue Joins Forces to Regulate Hunting Lodges

Recently the Department met with offi-
cials from Game, Fish & Parks, the De-
partment of Health, and the Fire Marshall
office to make sure all hunting lodges,
guides and preserves were properly li-
censed and inspected. These agencieswill
share information pertaining to require-
ments and licensing of hunting operations
for sales tax, preserves, food and lodging
inspections and fire safety inspections.
Look for an upcoming joint licensing and
informational fact sheet showing state re-
quirements for hunting operations.

If you have any questions concerning
sales tax on hunting lodges or operations,
please contact us. Other questions con-
cerning health or fire inspections or
questions on preserves or hunting regu-
lations contact the following individuals:

Clark Hepper

South Dakota Department of Health
Office of Health Protection

207 E. Missouri Ave. Ste 1A

Pierre SD 57501

(605) 773-4945

Paul Merriman

118 West Capitol

State Fire Marshal Office
Pierre, SD 57501

(605) 773-3562

Tom Jaros

118 West Capitol

State Fire Marshal Office
Pierre, SD 57501

(605) 773-3562

If the question pertains specifically to
shooting preserves, contact:

Steve Thompson, GFP Shooting
Preserve Coordinator

412 W. Missouri

Pierre, SD 57501

(605) 773-4191

For general information, please contact:

GFP Information & Education
412 W. Missouri

Pierre, SD 57501

(605) 773-3485

Is your business changing ownership status?

With a New Year beginning, many
businesses consider changing their
ownership status for income tax pur-
poses. Changes in ownership status
can affect your licensing for state tax
purposes as well.

A change in ownership status, such as
changing from a sole proprietor to a cor-
poration or LLC, requires that a new li-
cense be issued. You can access the
Department’s website at http://
www.state.sd.us/drr to complete your li-
cense application electronically.

If you are changing partners within
an existing partnership, a “Change in
Partnership Application” must be
completed to update Department
records with the names, addresses,
social security numbers, and phone
numbers of all partners entering and
leaving the partnership.

If a business dissolves a corporation and
a new corporation is formed, a new tax
license is required for the new corpora-
tion. If the corporation does not dissolve
but experiences a change in corporate
officers only, this does not require a
change in the tax license itself. How-
ever, all changes must be reported to the
Department by completing a “Corporate
Officer Update” form.

Both the “Change in Partnership Appli-
cation” and the “Corporate Officer Up-
date” forms are available on our website
and can be printed off for mailing, or you
can contact our office to have the ap-
propriate forms mailed to you.

If you have questions regarding poten-
tial ownership changes and determining
if a new license is needed, please con-
tact the Department at 1-800-829-9188,
or by email at bustax@state.sd.us.

Pillows and Exercise
Equipment

Durable medical equipment is exempt
from sales and use tax when pre-
scribed by a physician, chiropractor,
optometrist, dentist, or podiatrist.
Durable medical equipment means
equipment, including repair and re-
placement parts for same, which:

(1) Can withstand repeated use;

(2) Is primarily and customarily used
to serve a medical purpose;

(3) Generally is not useful to a per-
son in the absence of illness or
injury; and

(4) Isnot worn in or on the body.

Pillows, hot tubs, exercise equipment,
and exercise balls are not durable
medical equipment and are subject to
sales even if prescribed. They do not
meet the state’s definition of durable
medical equipment because they are
useful to a person in the absence of
illness or injury.

For more information on the new defi-
nitions of drugs, durable medical
equipment, mobility enhancing equip-
ment, prosthetic devices, and medi-
cal devices view Tax Facts # 225,
Health Services, Drugs, and Medi-
cal Devices, on our website at
www.state.sd.us/drr or request a
copy by calling the department toll
free at 1-800-TAX-9188.

Yankton Office Relocates

Please note the new address effec-
tive January 2007:

Dept. of Revenue & Regulation
1900 Summit Street

PO Box 859

Yankton, SD 57078-0859
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Employer Identification Numbers On-line

You can now apply for Employer
Identification Numbers online at the
IRS website at www.irs.gov. Sim-
ply search “EIN” to find Employer
Identification information. This ser-
vice is available 24 hours a day, 7
days a week.

While the Internet is the preferred
method for applying for EINS, busi-
ness owners may still obtain EINs
viatelephone by calling 1-800-829-
4933 from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., Mon-
day through Friday, in their local
time zone, or by mailing or faxing
Form SS-4, as provided in the
form’s instructions.

With the availability of applying for

EINs online, individuals should be
aware that there are some Internet
sites advertising this same service
but are charging a fee.

When considering any change to
your business you should contact
an accountant or attorney to obtain
information concerning your federal
income tax and legal advantages.

Be sure to let the Department of
Revenue and Regulation know
when you obtain a federal identifi-
cation number. The Department will
help you determine if you are prop-
erly licensed for state sales, use and
excise tax purposes.

News from the IRS

* A Phone Forum on the Electronic IRS is scheduled.

It will cover e-file

updates, EFTPS and Batch provider information, and navigating IRS &

Other Electronic Products.

* Register at www.attevent.com to get a Personal Identification Number (PIN)

for joining the conference.

» Conference dial-in number: Toll free: 1-866-216-6835

Access Code

Central (CST) Mountain (MST)

January 11, 2007 754087

11:00am - 1:00pm | 10:00am - 12:00pm

e The standard mileage rates for 2007 are 48.5 cents per mile for business
miles and 20 cents per mile for moving miles.

* In Fact Sheet 2006-26, available at http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/
0,.id=163780,00.html, the IRS reminds taxpayers to become familiar with
the tax law before deducting car and truck-related business expenses. This
is one of several areas that the IRS will be looking at in audits because they
contribute to the tax gap — the difference between the amount of tax that
taxpayers should pay and the amount that is paid voluntarily and on time. For
more information, go to www.irs.gov and use the search term “tax gap.”

IR 2006-179, located online at http://www.irs.gov/newsroom/article/
0,,id=164305,00.html, explains the method businesses can use to claim the
telephone excise tax refund. Businesses must complete Form 8913, Credit
for Federal Telephone Excise Tax Paid on their 2006 tax return to claim
this refund.
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For answers to industry-specific ques-
tions, see the following tax facts avail-
able on our website at www.state.sd.us/
drr/publicat.htm.

Accountants

Advertising Agencies

Ag Equipment/Services
Agricultural Tax Changes
Auctioneers/Auction Services
Attorneys

Audits

Bars and Restaurants

Basic Sales & Use Tax Info
Boats

Churches

Communications Equipment
Contractor’s Excise Tax

County Governments

Dentists

Entertainers

Exemption Certificate

Exempt Entities

Financial Institutions

Food Stamps/WIC Purchases
Franchise Operations

Funeral Services
Garbage/Solid Waste Services
Gravel

Gross Receipts

Health Services, Drugs, and Medical
Devices

Hospitals - Nonprofit

Hotels, Motels and Campgrounds
Hunting and Fishing Services
Investigative Services Bureau
Lease and Rental
Manufactured & Modular Homes
Metal Mining

Motor Vehicle Sales and Repair
Moving and Storage
Municipalities

Photographers

Printers, Newspapers, and Mailing
Services

Realty Improvements for Exempt Entities
Restaurants and Bars

Self Contractor’s

Speculative Builders
Taxidermists

Title & Abstract Companies
Tobacco Retailers

Tourism Tax

Tribal

Universities

Use Tax

\eterinarians



City
Aberdeen*
Aberdeen
Alcester*
Alexandria*
Alpena*
Arlington*
Armour*
Artesian*
Aurora*
Avon*
Baltic*
Baltic

Belle Fourche*
Belle Fourche
Belvidere*
Beresford*
Beresford
Big Stone City*
Blunt*
Blunt
Bonesteel*
Bowdle*
Box Elder*
Box Elder
Brandon*
Brandon
Brandt*
Bridgewater*
Bristol*
Britton*
Britton
Brookings*
Brookings
Bryant*
Buffalo*
Burke*
Canistota*
Canova*
Canton*
Carthage*
Castlewood*
Centerville*
Centerville
Central City*
Chamberlain*
Chamberlain
Chancellor*
Chancellor
Clark*

Clear Lake*
Colman*
Colome*
Colton*
Colton
Corona*
Corsica*
Corsica
Crooks*
Custer*
Custer
Dallas*
Davis*
Deadwood*
Deadwood
Dell Rapids*
Dell Rapids
Delmont*
De Smet*
De Smet
Dimock*
Doland*
Dupree*
Eden*
Edgemont*
Edgemont
Egan*

* denotes general city tax rate

029-2
029-1
031-2
034-2
034-1
035-2
036-2
037-2
037-1
039-2
039-1
040-2
042-2
043-2
044-2
044-1
045-2
045-1
047-2
048-2
053-2
055-2
056-2
057-2
061-2
062-2
065-2
065-1
066-2
067-2
067-1
068-2
068-1
073-2
075-2
076-2
077-2
078-2
078-1
081-2
082-2
082-1
087-2
088-2
088-1
089-2
091-2
093-2
093-1
094-2
094-1
095-2
092-2
092-1
097-2
098-2
101-2
103-2
104-2
104-1
105-2

Rate
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.95
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
1.90
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
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City

Elk Point*
Elkton*
Emery*
Estelline*
Ethan*
Eureka*
Faith*
Faith
Faulkton*
Flandreau™
Flandreau
Florence*
Fort Pierre*
Fort Pierre
Freeman*
Garretson*
Gary*
Gayville*
Geddes*
Gettysburg*
Gettysburg
Glenham*
Gregory™*
Groton*
Groton
Harrisburg*
Harrisburg
Harrold*
Hartford*
Hartford
Hayti*
Hazel*
Hecla*
Henry*
Hermosa*
Herreid*
Highmore*
Highmore
Hill City*
Hill City
Hitchcock*
Hosmer*
Hot Springs*
Hot Springs
Hoven*
Howard*
Hudson*
Humboldt*
Humboldt
Hurley*
Huron*
Huron
Interior*
Ipswich*
Irene*
Iroquois*
Isabel*
Java*
Jefferson*
Kadoka*
Kadoka
Kennebec*
Kennebec
Keystone*
Keystone
Kimball*
Kimball
Kranzburg*
Lake Andes*
Lake Norden*
Lake Preston*
Langford*
Lead*

Lead
Lemmon*
Lennox*

Code
106-2
107-2
110-2
113-2
114-2
115-2
119-2
119-1
121-2
125-2
125-1
126-2
129-2
129-1
133-2
138-2
139-2
140-2
141-2
142-2
142-1
145-2
147-2
149-2
149-1
151-2
151-1
153-2
154-2
154-1
156-2
157-2
158-2
159-2
160-2
161-2
164-2
164-1
165-2
165-1
166-2
168-2
169-2
169-1
171-2
172-2
174-2
175-2
175-1
176-2
177-2
177-1
179-2
181-2
182-2
183-2
184-2
185-2
186-2
187-2
187-1
190-2
190-1
192-2
192-1
193-2
193-1
194-2
197-2
199-2
200-2
202-2
204-2
204-1
206-2
207-2

Rate
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
1.90
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00

City
Leola*
Lesterville
Letcher*
Letcher
Madison*
Madison
Marion*
Martin*
Martin
McCook Lake*

Mclntosh*
McLaughlin*
Menno*
Midland*
Milbank*
Milbank
Miller*
Mission*
Mitchell*
Mitchell
Mobridge*
Mobridge
Monroe*
Montrose*
Mound City*
Mount Vernon*
Mount Vernon
Murdo*
Murdo

New Underwood*
Newell*
Nisland*
North Sioux City*
North Sioux City
Oacoma*
Oacoma
Olivet*
Onida*
Parker*
Parkston*
Parkston
Philip*
Pickstown*
Pierpont
Pierre*
Pierre
Plankinton*
Platte*
Platte
Pollock*
Presho*
Pringle*
Quinn*
Quinn
Ramona*
Rapid City*
Rapid City
Redfield*
Redfield
Reliance*
Reliance
Revillo*
Roscoe*
Rosholt*
Roslyn*
Saint Lawrence
Salem*
Scotland*
Selby*
Sherman*
Sioux Falls*
Sioux Falls
Sisseton*
Sisseton
South Shore*

SALEs Tax RATE

ode

227-1

219-2
220-2
233-2
234-2
235-2
235-1
237-2
239-2
242-2
242-1
243-2
243-1
244-2
245-2
247-2
248-2
248-1
250-2
250-1
254-2
255-2
256-2
258-2
258-1
261-2
261-1
267-2
269-2
276-2
277-2
277-1
280-2
281-2
283-2
284-2
284-1
286-2
287-2
287-1
288-2
291-2
292-2
295-2
295-1
297-2
298-2
298-1
301-2
301-1
305-2
305-1
308-2
312-2
314-2
315-2
320-2
322-2
324-2
325-2
328-2
330-2
330-1
331-2
331-1
333-2

Rate
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00

Report Under
North Sioux City

1.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.75
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
1.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
2.00
1.00
1.00
1.92
1.00
2.00
1.00
1.00

City
Spearfish*
Spearfish
Spencer*
Springfield*
Stickney*
Stratford*
Sturgis*
Sturgis
Summerset*
Summerset
Summit*
Tabor*

Tea*

Tea

Timber Lake*
Toronto*
Trent*
Tripp*
Tulare*
Tyndall*
Valley Springs*
Veblen*
Vermillion*
Vermillion
Viborg*
Viborg
\Volga*
\olin*
Wagner*
Wakonda*
Wall*

Wall
Warner*
Wasta*
Watertown*
Watertown
Waubay*
Webster*
Webster
Wentworth*
Wessington*
Wessington Springs*
White*
White Lake*
White Lake
White River*
Whitewood*
Whitewood
Willow Lake*
Wilmot*
Winner*
Witten*
Wolsey*
Woonsocket*
Worthing*
Worthing
Yankton*
Yankton

Tribal Taxes
Cheyenne*
Cheyenne

Pine Ridge*
Pine Ridge
Rosebud*
Rosebud
Standing Rock*
Standing Rock

Other Taxes
Telecommunication
Tourism Tax

Motor Vehicle
Sioux Falls Lodging

taxation | january

CHART

Code Rate
334-2 2.00
334-1 1.00
335-2 2.00
336-2 2.00
337-2 2.00
340-2 1.00
341-2 2.00
341-1 1.00
425-2 2.00
425-1 1.00
342-2 2.00
343-2 2.00
344-2 2.00
344-1 1.00
345-2 2.00
347-2 1.00
349-2 1.00
350-2 2.00
351-2 1.00
355-2 2.00
359-2 2.00
360-2 1.00
362-2 2.00
362-1 1.00
363-2 2.00
363-1 1.00
367-2 1.00
368-2 1.00
369-2 2.00
370-2 1.00
372-2 2.00
372-1 1.00
376-2 2.00
377-2 1.00
379-2 2.00
379-1 1.00
380-2 2.00
382-2 2.00
382-1 1.00
383-2 2.00
384-2 1.00
385-2 2.00
388-2 2.00
389-2 2.00
389-1 1.00
391-2 2.00
393-2 2.00
393-1 1.00
394-2 2.00
395-2 2.00
397-2 2.00
398-2 2.00
399-2 2.00
401-2 2.00
402-2 2.00
402-1 1.00
405-2 2.00
405-1 1.00
408-4 4.00
408-2 2.00
411-4 4.00
411-2 2.00
412-4 4.00
412-2 2.00
413-4 4.00
413-2 2.00
900-1 4.00
700-1 1.00
600-1 450
800-1 1.00
2007 7
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Regulatlon

445 EAST CAPITOLAVENUE
PIERRE, SD 57501-3185

taxation
www.state.sd.us/drr
bustax@state.sd.us or call 1-800-TAX-9188

Return Service Requested

Are YOU making tax return errors? See page 4.



